The Catalyst: Class of 2019

The group that created The Catalyst consists of 18 talented individuals with many differences; from heritage, to religion, to hometown. But, there is one thing we all have in common: passion.

For many, passion can mean different things. But to us, passion is the force that drives us to advocate for our beliefs and to speak our truths to the public. The staff of The Catalyst – a group characterized by their clear differences – are brought together and connected by our ambition. We are the catalysts in our communities, creating change and bringing issues to light.

We advocate for a wide variety of topics; from educating others on climate change and implementing gun reform, to mental health awareness and the establishment of true equality. As a group, we hope to abolish the stigma around journalism and eradicate the mere possibility of fake news.

Our job as young journalists is to inform the public of the issues plaguing the world and inspire progress. In addition to informing the public, our duty is to create connections between seemingly unrelated elements. We connect our journalistic duty to our passion for advocating on social justice issues.

These were the ideals that the late Carole C. Remick held, and the staff of The Catalyst are upholding her beliefs in their daily work as journalists. Our work is fueled by our passions and our beliefs. The connections that we have made with each other and within our communities compel our desire to create a bridge between the public and the truth.

The members of The Catalyst have done our duty and will continue to do so; now it’s your turn. What are you going to do to change the world?

To read our work, visit The Catalyst.

(Illustration Sophia DeJesus)


Jonah Bingham Brattleboro Union High School 

Bridget Bushey Sabis International Charter School

Sophia DeJesus Smithfield High School

Hannah Flayhan Shepherd Hill Regional High School

Noah Greif Wakefield Memorial High School

Anya Grondalski Shepherd Hill Regional High school

Ashton Gunter Taunton High School

Isabel Harrington Newton High School

Rafaella Hill-Mosher Montpelier High School

John Lin Boston Latin School

Franceska Lucaj North Kingstown High school

Clea Matt Danvers High School 

Ryan Muller Wahconah Regional High School

Annika Our Douglas High School

Isabel Sorial Stamford High School

Maliyah Stewart Brockton High School 

Devin Tweedie Cumberland High School

Anek Yen Concord High School


Bridget Bright Ithaca College 

Thomas Coughlin Emerson College

Mackenzie Farkus Simmons University

Cassidy Wang Northwestern University


Leah Lamson NEHSJC Managing Director 

Milton Valencia NEHSJC President, reporter, The Boston Globe

Corey Allen NEHSJC Co-Chair, Suffolk Construction 

Mike Carraggi NEHSJC Co-Chair, regional manager,

Christine Varrieur NEHSJC Print Designer, associate design director, TripAdvisor

Michelle Johnson NEHSJC Web Producer,  Boston University, Professor, Journalism 

Colleen Malachowski Carole Remick Endowed Chair of Journalism, Regis College

Paula Bouknight NEHSJC Board Member, The Boston Globe 

Ann Mortiz NEHSJC Board Member, Mortiz Advisory Group 


Steve Leone Concord Monitor

Sarah Pearson Concord Monitor

Leah Willingham Concord Monitor

Ashlee Korlach, The Boston Globe

Katie Johnson, The Boston Globe


Charles St. Amand Suffolk University

Nathan Klima Boston Globe

Helen Smith New England Scholastic Press Association 

Justin Silverman New England First Amendment Coalition

Jenna Fisher 

Bill Ballou Worcester Telegram and Gazette

Jeneé Osterheldt Boston Globe

JPat Brown Muckrock

Beryl Lipton Muckrock

Kiera Murray Muckrock

Kelley Tuthill Regis College

Mary Kaye Leonard Carole C. Remick Foundation

Andrew Ryan Boston Globe

Nicole Dungca Boston Globe

Sean Corcoran WGBH

Paul Singer WGBH

Michelle Johnson, Boston University


The Carole Remick Foundation 

The Boston Globe 

Regis College 

Simmons University

New England Newspaper and Press Association 

The Edward M. Kennedy Institute